Choosing a color

Research has always been a major element of a projects starting process. Although, many never take into consideration the issue of what colors mean, only if they emphasize the colors of other elements, and if they make sense to the project. This rings especially true to fledgling designers like me, as I’ve never had to appeal to a market that wasn’t my home one before. The many cases of international failure I was archive in this blog however will make me think otherwise.

The first poster I ever designed was for the Mardi-Gras festivals that are held in Galveston. The usual colors used for the event are green, yellow, and purple, and I had these colors in mind when I designed the project. All I had to worry about was appealing the colors and design of the poster to the organizers of the event. I had no idea how these colors would do to foreigners who were interested in the event, although appealing to an international market wasn’t ever a huge concern to the Mardi-Gras event organizers.

Research for a project should always include the ideas and beliefs of a culture when the process of creating slogans, using shapes and fonts, and even words is under way. I’ve created this blog to not only inform others of the many instances in which colors was important, it is also a learning experience for me, as I can take all these mix ups in mind as a learn even more about graphic design. Maybe I can edit my wordpress theme with these color subjects in mind.

Leave a comment